top of page

Oceania   >   Australia


The Kimberley is the northernmost region of Western Australia. This spectacular region has an area of over 421,000 km². It is bordered by the Northern Territory to the east, the Pilbara to the south, the Indian Ocean to the northwest, and the Timor Sea to the north.

The Kimberley is one of the world's last great wilderness areas, and covers an area large enough to fit the United Kingdom twice, though the total population is only about 50,000. Most of the population is concentrated in small towns such as Kununurra and Wyndham in the East and Broome and Derby on the coast in the west.

Highlights of the Kimberley include a long untouched coast, magnificent wilderness scenery, rare fauna and flora and a rich and colourful history. The Kimberley thrives as a tourist destination with 85% of the population being tourists.The area draws much of its history from its colourful pearling industry, indigenous culture, and the rugged pastoral (sheep and cattle) stations.

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page