top of page


Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park is dominated by New Zealand's two highest mountains, Aoraki/Mount Cook and Mount Tasman. Several other high peaks of the South Island's Southern Alps are nearby. The park is part of the "Te Wahipounamu" UNESCO World Heritage site.

Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park was established in 1953 and today covers 707 square kilometres. The park is home to 22 of New Zealand's 23 named peaks over 3,000 metres high (Mount Aspiring / Tititea is the 23rd).

The park is renowned for its natural environment. "Take only pictures and leave only footprints" is a good rule to follow.

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page