top of page


Mount Aspiring National Park lies in the Southern Alps of New Zealand's South Island, in the headwaters of Lake Wanaka. It is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of South West New Zealand, or Te Wahipounamu, which includes Fiordland National Park (to the south), Aoraki Mount Cook National Park and Westland National Park (both to the north).

Mount Aspiring National Park was established in 1964. It is named after the highest mountain in the park, Mount Aspiring/Tititea, which at 3,033 m (9,950 ft) is also the highest mountain in New Zealand outside Aoraki Mount Cook National Park.

In November 2013, contributors to the respected journal Science chose Te Wahipounamu as one of only 78 protected areas around the globe as the most critical for preventing the extinction of mammals, birds and amphibians. Mount Aspiring National Park was home to the takahe and kakapo, now sadly both extinct in this area, but the rowi, the rarest species of kiwi, lingers on.

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page