top of page

Asia   >   Philippines


Mayon is an active volcano with a nearly perfect cone in the province of Albay in the Philippines. It forms the Mayon Volcano Natural Park, then named Mayon Volcano National Park, one of the first national parks of the country.

At a height of 2,465 m (8,087 ft), Mayon Volcano (Bulkang Mayon), also known as Mount Mayon, is a prominent natural landmark of Bicol region and Albay province. It is a composite volcano with a nearly perfect cone, and towers around the cities of Legazpi, Tabaco and Ligao, and the towns of Daraga, Guinobatan, Camalig, Bacacay, Santo Domingo, and Malilipot.

Mayon was a sacred site to the Bicolano people during the pre-colonial period because it was considered the home of the ancient deity Gugurang. It forms a belt of volcanoes that dot the Bicol peninsula.

The national park surrounding the volcano, Mayon Volcano Natural Park has been part of the Albay Biosphere Reserve, and is a candidate to the UNESCO World Heritage List.

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page