top of page

Asia   >   Philippines


La Union, also known as L.U. in short, is a province in the Ilocos region of the Philippines. La Union is a relatively new province, having been formed in 1850 from the southernmost towns of Ilocos Sur, westernmost towns of Benguet, and the northernmost towns of Pangasinan.

True to its name, meaning “the Union” in Spanish, the region is a melting pot of Pangasinan, Ilocano and Cordilleran (Igorot) cultures. Since the early 2000s, L.U. (as the province is called informally) has a growing tourism industry centered on the coastal towns facing the South China Sea (West Philippine Sea).

Learn to surf on the black volcanic sand beaches of La Union. While the waves aren't Hawaii by any stretch of the imagination, the gently sloping beaches provide a steady supply of trainer waves.

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page