top of page

Europe   >   Italy


The Dolomites are a mountain range within the Alps shared between the regions of Trentino-Alto Adige, Veneto and Friuli-Venezia Giulia in Italy. They are a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2009. 

The Dolomites are also known as the Pale Mountains they got their name from the rock dolomite, named after french mineralogist Déodat de Dolomieu who was the first to study it in the 18th century. The chemical composition of the rocks gives rise to the phenomenon known as enrosadira or alpenglow, it can be seen at dawn or sunset when the mountains look orange-reddish (or pink-purple).

There are hundreds of hiking trails throughout the Dolomites mountains. Some are very easy and ideal for families with kids while some others are only recommended to experts. Many trails start from towns and villages and lead to lakes, pastures or to a rifugio (mountain hut, some look like cabins, some other are more like hotel-restaurant) where you can normally sit down, rest, enjoy the local cuisine and the sun before going home.

- Wikitravel

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page