top of page

Oceania   >   Australia


Canberra was built to be the capital city of Australia in the Australian Capital Territory in the south-east of New South Wales. A planned city with national monuments, museums, and galleries all built around large man-made lakes. The bush capital - Canberra is also a great place to enjoy the outdoors, with excellent cycling, gardens, parks, bushwalking and nature reserves.

The requirement for an Australian capital city to be built was specified in the Australian constitution at federation in 1901, and seven years later the site for what would become Canberra was established. A design competition was held for the city in 1911 which was won by Chicago-based architect Walter Burley Griffin in 1912. The name "Canberra" was made official in 1913.

This Australian Capital Territory was created from land inside New South Wales, and originally governed directly by the Federal Government. In 1988 the federal government granted the area "responsible government" (aka "home rule") and the first local elections were held in 1989 with parties opposed to the very idea of a local government for the Capital Territory garnering significant support. 

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page