Buenos Aires is the capital of Argentina.

Buenos Aires means fair winds, or literally good airs, in Spanish. The official name is Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires ("Autonomous City of Buenos Aires"), also called Capital Federal ("Federal Capital"). It is one of the largest cities in Latin America, with many cultural offerings, and is the point of departure for traveling to the rest of the country. People from Buenos Aires are called porteños, meaning "people from the port" as Buenos Aires was founded as a port city to fend off pirates and other enemies. Buenos Aires is an open and welcoming destination that allows the traveller not only to visit the city but also have an exceptional urban adventure.

The city is geographically contained inside the province of Buenos Aires but is autonomous politically.

The city extends across a plain covering 19.4 km (12.1 mi) from north to south and 17.9 km (11.1 mi) from east to west.

About three million people live in the City of Buenos Aires (the Federal Capital of Argentina with 202 km2 (78 sq mi). The city is divided into 48 districts or barrios (neighbourhoods). Together with its metropolitan area called Great Buenos Aires (Gran Buenos Aires), it is in the top 30 of most populated urban conurbations in the world with over 15 million people. The majority of Argentina's economic activity is concentrated in this single city and its surroundings.

- Wikivoyage

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow