top of page


French Polynesia is a collection of over 100 islands halfway between California and Australia in the South Pacific Ocean. It is an overseas country governed by France.

Tahiti and its islands cover 4 million km² of ocean, which is the same area as the European Union. The land above sea level accounts for some 7,000 km² consisting of 118 islands, grouped into 5 archipelagos (4 volcanic, 1 coral).

The French government administers education, justice, defense and internal security, while a local parliament takes care of other day-to-day affairs.

Makatea in French Polynesia is one of the three great phosphate rock islands in the Pacific Ocean, the others are Banaba (Ocean Island) in Kiribati and Nauru.

- Wikivoyage
- Image by @thoma.sito

Image by Mesut Kaya

Come on an adventure with us!

We're just taking off on our journey to revolutionise the travel industry.

Sign up and follow our socials for all the latest and greatest in travel + Trava

  • ig circle
  • fb round
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Newsleter icon yellow
bottom of page